1	HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION										
2	STATE OF OKLAHOMA										
3	1st Session of the 60th Legislature (2025)										
4	HOUSE BILL 2387 By: Eaves and <b>Hill</b> of the House										
5	and										
6	Hines of the Senate										
7											
8	AS INTRODUCED										
9	An Act relating to the Department of Rehabilitation Services; amending 74 O.S. 2021, Section 166.2, which										
10	relates to Commission of Rehabilitation Services, creation, and members; increasing the number of										
11	members; and providing an effective date.										
12											
13	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:										
14	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 74 O.S. 2021, Section 166.2, is										
15	amended to read as follows:										
16	Section 166.2. A. Effective July 1, 1993, there is hereby										
17	created the Commission for Rehabilitation Services, an agency of the										
18	State of Oklahoma, a body corporate and politic, with powers of										
19	government and with the authority to exercise the rights, privileges										
20	and functions as herein specified, with its lawful operations deemed										
21	to be an essential governmental function of the State of Oklahoma										
22	with all the attributes thereof.										
23	B. The Commission shall appoint and remove the Director of the										
24	Department of Rehabilitation Services, approve programs, policy and										

1	budget, and perform the necessary functions of a governing board for
2	the State Department of Rehabilitation Services.
3	C. 1. The Commission shall consist of three (3) seven (7)
4	members, to be appointed by <del>June 15, 1993</del> , as follows:
5	a. <del>one member</del> <u>two members</u> shall be appointed by the
6	President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate <del>for</del>
7	<del>a three-year term</del> ,
8	b. <del>one member</del> <u>two members</u> shall be appointed by the
9	Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives <del>for a</del>
10	three-year term, and
11	c. <del>one member</del> three members shall be appointed by the
12	Governor <del>for a three-year term</del> .
13	2. Thereafter, beginning with the expiration of the terms of
14	the three members initially appointed, the Commission shall consist
15	of three (3) members, appointed as follows:
16	a. one member shall be appointed by the President Pro
17	Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate and shall serve a
18	term of one (1) year,
19	b. one member shall be appointed by the Speaker of the
20	Oklahoma House of Representatives and shall serve a
21	term of two (2) years, and
22	c. one member shall be appointed by the Governor and
23	shall serve a term of three (3) years Except as
24	otherwise provided by this subsection, members shall

1	
2	
3	
4	
5	F
6	<u> </u>
7	_
8	2
9	
10	n
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	

2.1

22

23

24

be	app	point	ed :	for	ter	ms	of	thr	ree	(3)	yeaı	îs.	Each	term
sha	all	begi	n oi	n Jı	ıly	1 0	of t	the	res	pect	cive	year	and	end
on	Jur	ne 30	th:	ree	(3)	ує	ears	s la	ater	· •				

- 3. The current appointee of the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall serve until June 30, 2025. The current appointee of the Governor shall serve until June 30, 2026. The current appointee of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall serve until June 30, 2027.
- 4. For the purpose of expanding the Commission to seven (7) members, the following additional members shall be appointed:
  - a. one member shall be appointed by the President Pro

    Tempore of the Senate for a term beginning on July 1,

    2025 and ending on June 30, 2027,
  - b. two members shall be appointed by the Governor, each for a term beginning on July 1, 2025 and ending on June 30, 2026, and
  - c. one member shall be appointed by the Speaker of the

    House of Representatives for a term beginning on July

    1, 2025 and ending on June 30, 2028, in addition to

    the member the Speaker shall appoint to fill the seat

    of the current member whose term expires on June 30,

    2025.
- 3.5. Thereafter, at the expiration of the term, or termination of the member's service for any reason, the original appointing

authority shall appoint a successor for a term of three (3) years, or for the remainder of an unexpired term.

- D. Members of the Commission shall be knowledgeable of and have concern for rehabilitation issues and disability issues; provided, that such requirement shall not exclude participation of lay persons as Commission members. All members shall be residents of the state and qualified electors at the time of their appointment. Before entering upon the duties of their office, members of the Commission shall take the Constitutional oath of office and the same shall be filed with the Secretary of State. A member of the Commission may be reappointed to succeed himself or herself. Commission members shall be reimbursed for travel expenses incurred in the performance of their duties as provided in the State Travel Reimbursement Act.
- E. The original appointing authority may remove any commissioner for misconduct, incompetency or neglect of duty, after giving such commissioner a written statement of charges, and opportunity for a hearing.
- 18 | SECTION 2. This act shall become effective November 1, 2025.

20 COMMITTEE REPORT BY: COMMITTEE ON RULES, dated 02/25/2025 - DO PASS, As Coauthored.

2.1

1.3